Qutb Shahi Dynasty

Rulers of the Deccan (1518 - 1687)

In 1463, disturbances broke out in the Telangana area of the Bahmani kingdom of the Deccan. Sultan Quli Qutbul-Mulk, a Turk who was a high-ranking military officer under Muhammad Shah Bahmani, was sent to quell the trouble.

He was successful and was rewarded by being made the subedar of Telangana in 1495, with Golconda as his headquarters.

Golconda Fort, Hyderabad
Golconda Fort, Hyderabad

Subsequently, with the disintegration of the Bahmani Kingdom in the early 16th century, Sultan Quli assumed virtual independence. Thus he founded the Qutb Shahi dynasty that lasted from 1518 right upto 1687, when Aurangzeb’s armies swept the Deccan.

Qutb Shahi dynasty spanned 171 years in the history of South India. The eight kings of this royal lineage have left a firm impression of their strong personalities upon the land and its people.

The Qutb Shahi rulers were great builders and patrons of learning. They not only patronized the Persian culture but also the regional culture of the Deccan, symbolized by the Telugu language and the newly developed Deccani idiom.

The Qutub Shahi Rulers of the Deccan

Sultan Quli Qutub Shah
I Ruler of Qutb Shahi Dynasty

Jamsheed Quli Qutub Shah
II Ruler of Qutb Shahi Dynasty

Ibrahim Quli Qutub Shah
IV Ruler of Qutb Shahi Dynasty

Muhammad Quli Qutub Shah
V Ruler of Qutb Shahi Dynasty

Sultan Muhammad Qutub Shah
VI Ruler of Qutb Shahi Dynasty

Abdullah Qutub Shah
VII Ruler of Qutb Shahi Dynasty

Abul Hasan Tana Shah
VIII and Last Ruler of Qutub Shahi Dynasty

Like This Page?

Page on Qutb Shahi Dynasty

Go to Top of Qutub Shahi Era page

Return from Qutb Shah Dynasty to Hyderabad, India home page